Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The MSc is led by the Course Director, Dr Tim Humphrey.

The Course Director leads a team of senior academics including the Module Leads and Lecturers.

Module Leads

Module 1: Physics and Chemistry of Radiation Action: Dr Mark Hill, Head of Radiation Physics.

Module 2: Molecular Radiation Biology: Dr Tim Humphrey, Senior Group Leader, Chromosome Integrity.

Module 3: Cellular Radiation Biology:  Dr Mark Hill.

Module 4: Normal Tissue and Applied Radiation Biology: Dr Ketan Shah, Clinical Oncologist

Module 5: Whole Body Exposure and Carcinogenesis: Dr Liz Ainsbury, Head of Cytogenics Group, Public Health England.

Module 6: Radiation Epidemiology: Richard Wakeford, Professor of Epidemiology, University of Manchester.

Module 7: Imaging Technologies: Dr Bart Cornelissen, Junior Group Leader, Radiopharmaceuticals and Molecular Imaging.

Module 8: Tumour Microenvironment: Prof Geoff Higgins, Associate Professor, Tumour Radiosensitivity.

Module 9: Applications of Radiation Therapy: Dr Kristoffer Petersson, Group Leader, FLASH Radiation.

Module 10: Translational Radiation Biology: Dr Eileen Parkes, Cancer Immunology.

Module 11: Clinical Radiation Biology: Prof Tim Maughan, Professor of Clinical Oncology.

Module 12: Radiation Protection: John Harrison, Former Director of Public Health England, Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards (CRCE).


Further details of the modules can be found on the Modules page.