Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Maria Hawkins

Clinician Scientist

  • Honorary Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

Research Summary

The aim of my research is to develop new radiotherapy treatments to maximise clinical benefit in terms of better tumour control and reduction in toxicity. The novel radiotherapy will, if successful, change routine clinical practice in high priority cancers through funded NIHR portfolio trials.


Maria is a clinician scientist in precision radiotherapy committed to improving outcome through high quality research leading MRC funded Advanced Radiotherapy Group in the MRC Oxford Institute for Radiation Oncology.  She is also an Honorary Consultant Clinical Oncologist at the Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust since 2013.

She is the chief investigator of 4 CRUK funded trials including radiation novel agents combination in phase I, but in radical setting (ATR-i with chemoradiation in the definitive setting for oesophageal cancer or combining adenovirus and chemoradiation in the pre-operative setting of rectal cancer). MRC, CRUK and industry partners fund research.  

She is the Clinical Chair of NCRI CTRad technical radiotherapy workstream and has 70 publications, invited speaker and faculty international meetings (NCRI, ASTRO, ASCO-GI, ESTRO, ECCO).


Louise Bendell, DPhil student
Ben George, Postdoctoral Researcher (joint supervised with Frank Van den Heuvel)
Sean O'Cathail, Postdoctoral Researcher
Kay Shigmori, DPhil Student

Recent publications

More publications


2008 - Dr Karol Sicher Fellowship by RCR

2009 - Sylvia Lawler Prize, Oncology Section Royal Society of Medicine

2013 - Honorary Member of Association Belge de Radiothérapie-Oncologie

2018 - Honorary Fellow of the RCR Ireland