Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The 5th Annual Oncology Student Symposium held at St Anne’s College on Thursday, 13 July was a great success with a full day of talks in the Mary Ogilvie lecture theatre and a poster session in the marquee within the beautiful surroundings of the St Anne’s Quad.

© Luana Campos Soares
Prize cover image: “Control neuro stem cells (primary culture) under a differentiation essay. In green is a marker for neuron and in red a marker for astrocytes. In blue is DAPI (nucleus)” - Luana Campos Soares

The judges commented on how high the standard of work was this year, making their decision all the more challenging.

The prizes for the four categories were awarded as follows: 

Front cover Image Prize went to Luana Campos Soares (Eric O’Neill and Francis Szele Group) with “Control neuro stem cells (primary culture) under a differentiation essay”

1st Year Poster Presentation Prize went to Asmita Thapa (Eric O’Neill Group) with “Investigation of Hippo pathway during the multi-step progression of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma”

2nd Year Oral Presentation Prize was won by John Fielden (Kristijan Ramadan and Grigory Dianov Group) with “IREVIP1 recruits P97 to DNA replication forks and is required to extract Topoisomerase 1 from chromatin” 

Best Question Prize during the oral presentations went to Jamie Langton (Wojciech Niedzwiedz Group).  

Congratulations to all the prize winners.

Similar stories

MP Anneliese Dodds tours Oxford cancer research

Anneliese Dodds, MP for Oxford East & Chair of the Labour Party, visited the University of Oxford to learn more about the impactful work happening across departments in the field of cancer research.

Vice-Chancellor's Innovation Awards 2020

Congratulations to Professor Anna Schuh and her team who are the Winners of the Teamwork category in the Vice-Chancellor Innovation Awards 2020 for their work on SEREN_A Social Enterprise to deliver DNA-based diagnostics that improves outcomes of children and young adults with blood diseases in sub-Saharan Africa.

Vice-Chancellor's Education Awards 2020

We are delighted to announce that three members of the Department of Oncology have been part of a project team which has been awarded a Vice-Chancellor's Education Award for 2020.

Lifetime Achievement Award for Prof Talbot

Congratulations to Professor Denis Talbot who has been awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the British Thoracic Oncology Group (BTOG).