Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Dr Mark Hill was awarded the honour of Fellow of the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (FIPEM) after ‘demonstrating scientific and professional attainment of outstanding merit’.

Mark has over 35 years of experience in the field of radiation biology and physics, spanning basic, pre-clinical and clinically related research, the underlying focus of which relates to understanding the mechanisms behind the initial interactions of ionising radiation (in space and time), the subsequent biological response in the context of radiation track structure and ultimately the associated human health implications. In addition to his research interests, he manages a wide range of radiation facilities within the Department of Oncology, along with developing novel radiation facilities and techniques. Mark is also currently responsible supervising all radiation work by Oncology with the ORCRB, RRI and PROx ensuring the Department is legally compliant.

Over the years Mark has served on a number of national/international committees. Most notably a number of WHO International Agency for Research of Cancer (IARC) working groups, as well as working groups for the International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements, European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ESTRO), Advisory Committee for Radiation Oncology Practice (ACROP) and a subgroup of the UK Advisory Group on Ionizing Radiation (AGIR). Mark is currently a member of the Committee on Medical Aspects of Radiation in the Environment (COMARE), whose remit is to assess and advise the UK government and the devolved administrations on the health effects of natural and man-made radiation. Mark has also recently been appointed Deputy Chair of Working Group 1 (Translating novel discoveries to and from the clinic: translational research roadmap) of the National Cancer Research Institute (NCRI) Clinical, Translational Radiotherapy Research Working Group (CTRad).

In addition to supervising a number of MSc and DPhil students over the years, Mark is currently the Chair of Examiners of the MSc in Radiation Biology, following four years as Course Director from 2016 to 2020. In addition to teaching on this course, he also lectures radiation protection professionals on the Annual Radiological Protection Summer School held at the University of Cambridge and has spent five years as a specialist radiobiology examiner on the First FRCR examination board for the Royal College of Radiologists (RCR).

Speaking of the award, Mark said 'It is an honour to receive recognition from my peers for the work I have carried over the years' and that this is also a reflection of the many exciting multidisciplinary collaborations he has been involved with.

Similar stories

The Howat Foundation to fund Chair in Clinical Oncology

Oxford Cancer announce the endowment of a Chair in Clinical Oncology, thanks to generous philanthropic support from The Howat Foundation

Dr Lennard Lee awarded ACP McElwain Prize for contributions to medical oncology

Dr Lee (Department of Oncology) received the award to acknowledge his contributions during the COVID-19 pandemic, through the establishment of the UK Coronavirus Cancer Monitoring Project.

Professor Sibson secures further MRC DPFS funding

Prof. Sibson together with her co-applicants Prof. Anthony, Dr Campbell and Prof. Middleton have now been awarded a second MRC DPFS grant, for £3.3 million, to acquire further preclinical data to support the case for clinical translation, to develop the mutTNF production for human use and to undertake pre-clinical toxicology.

Vice-Chancellor's Innovation Awards 2020

Congratulations to Professor Anna Schuh and her team who are the Winners of the Teamwork category in the Vice-Chancellor Innovation Awards 2020 for their work on SEREN_A Social Enterprise to deliver DNA-based diagnostics that improves outcomes of children and young adults with blood diseases in sub-Saharan Africa.